COLUMBUS – Columbus Crew, in conjunction with Major League Soccer, today announced that midfielder Lucas Zelarayan has been selected for the 2021 MLS All-Star Game presented by Target. The 28 MLS All-Stars are set to face the best of LIGA MX at Banc of California Stadium on August 25 [9 p.m. ET / FS1 / Univision].

The roster was determined through a combination of fan, player, and media voting (13 players), designations by All-Star Head Coach Bob Bradley (13 players) and a pair of selections by MLS Commissioner Don Garber.

Zelarayan, who joined the Black & Gold prior to the start of the 2020 MLS season, is the 24th player in Crew history to be named an MLS All-Star. This is the first MLS All-Star selection of Zelarayan’s MLS career, which began when he joined the Crew on December 20, 2019, as a Designated Player.

In his debut season, the Argentine midfielder was named the MLS Newcomer of the Year. During the 2020 MLS Cup Playoffs, Zelarayan had two goals and five assists in four postseason appearances. The Argentine playmaker scored two goals and added one assist en route to earning MLS Cup MVP honors, helping lead the Crew to a 3-0 victory over the Seattle Sounders – the most dominant victory by a team in MLS Cup history.

 Since joining the Black & Gold, the 29-year-old has scored 11 goals (five game-winning goals) and tallied six assists (two game-winning assists) in 31 regular-season matches. Notably, since joining the League, Zelarayan has scored more free-kick goals (five) or goals from outside the box (eight) than any other player in MLS.

Columbus Crew begins a two-match homestand by hosting D.C. United at Field on Wednesday, August 4 [7:30 p.m. ET / Bally Sports Ohio / 97.1 FM The Fan & (English), (Spanish)]. Tickets for the match are available at

Supporters interested in securing the very best seats and exclusive benefits at Field can learn more about prorated Season Ticket Memberships here. New for 2021 and Field, the Crew are offering fully customizable partial season plans starting at as few as four matches.

WATCH | The moment Lucas Zelarayan learned of his All-Star Game selection

WATCH | The moment Lucas Zelarayan learns of his 2021 MLS All-Star Game selection

Below is the Crew’s MLS All-Star Game history: 


2018: Zack Steffen

2016: Wil Trapp

2015: Ethan Finlay/Waylon Francis/Kei Kamara

2014: Michael Parkhurst

2010: Guillermo Barros Schelotto/Chad Marshall

2009: Guillermo Barros Schelotto/Chad Marshall

2008: Guillermo Barros Schelotto/Frankie Hejduk/Robbie Rogers

2007: Guillermo Barros Schelotto/Frankie Hejduk

2005: Frankie Hejduk

2004: Frankie Hejduk/Jon Busch/Robin Fraser

2003: Frankie Hejduk/Kyle Martino

2002: John Harkes/Brian Maisonneuve/Brian McBride

2001: Mike Clark/Brian McBride/John Wilmar Perez

2000: Mike Clark/Brian McBride/Dante Washington

1999: Thomas Dooley/Stern John/Brian Maisonneuve/Brian McBride/Robert Warzycha

1998: Thomas Dooley/Brian McBride/Brian Maisonneuve/Stern John

1997: Robert Warzycha/Brian McBride

1996: Brian McBride/Doctor Khumalo


1998: Brian McBride

Interested in tickets? We're here to help!
Interested in tickets? We're here to help!