All-Star Game

Columbus Crew Midfielders Aidan Morris, Lucas Zelarayán Named 2023 MLS All-Stars

COLUMBUS Crew midfielders Aidan Morris and Lucas Zelarayán are among the 26 players honored today as Major League Soccer unveiled the complete roster for the 2023 MLS All-Star Game. Morris, who was selected via the fan, player and media vote, will make his MLS All-Star Game debut. Zelarayán, designated by MLS All-Star and D.C. United Head Coach Wayne Rooney, earned MLS All-Star accolades for the second time after being recognized in 2021.

The 2023 MLS All-Star Game presented by Target will be played on Wednesday, July 19, and feature the MLS All-Stars taking on Arsenal FC, the renowned 13-time English league champions, at Audi Field, home of D.C. United. The roster was selected through a combination of fan, player, and media voting (12 players), designations by Rooney of host club D.C. United (12 players) and a pair of selections by MLS Commissioner Don Garber.

Including Morris and Zelarayán, Black & Gold players have combined for 27 All-Star selections in club history.

2023 MLS All-Stars: Lucas Zelarayan & Aidan Morris

“Aidan and Lucas earned their place on the MLS All-Star team this year based on their hard work and commitment to the club on and off the pitch,” said President and General Manager Tim Bezbatchenko. “Everyone has embraced our desired style of play under Wilfried Nancy, and that buy-in ultimately leads to team and individual success. Both players have continued to develop this year in our system due to their team-first mindset, and we are excited about their opportunity to showcase their talents during the league’s week-long celebration of soccer.”

“It’s an honor to be an MLS All-Star for the first time, but I still have a lot more work to do to accomplish my goals, most importantly winning as a team and bringing championships to our city,” said Morris. “The Crew have believed in me from the beginning and continue to help me improve, and I’ll always be thankful for the club’s and my teammates’ support, as well as the fans. I look forward representing our club in DC and finishing this season strong.”

“It is great to be an MLS All-Star again this year, but I’m always focused on the team – I couldn’t do it without them,” said Zelarayán. “Whether it’s goals or assists, I just want to help us win. For me, it’s special to represent the Crew and also my fellow Latin American players on this stage. I want to thank my teammates, coaches, the entire club and the fans for their support.”

A Homegrown player and Crew Academy standout, Morris, 21, has made 55 regular-season appearances (40 starts) while registering three goals and four assists since joining the club in 2020. He started and played all 90 minutes during the 2020 MLS Cup Final, where the team captured the league championship with a 3-0 win over the Seattle Sounders. Morris – who has received three caps for the U.S. Men’s National Team, including currently contributing in the 2023 Concacaf Gold Cup – has started all 18 games played in 2023, recording three goals, three assists and a 92.1 passing completion percentage, among the best rates in MLS this year.

Zelarayán is one of only five MLS players to amass at least eight goals and seven assists in 2023 and ranks tied for third on game-winning goals (four) and tied for second on game-winning assists (three) in 16 starts. The Armenian international recently returned from international duty where he recorded two goals and one assist against Wales in a 2024 UEFA European Qualifier. Zelarayán has earned spots on the MLS Team of the Matchday presented by Audi a total of seven times, most recently for Matchday 21, as well as Man of The Matchday Honors for Matchday 2. He has featured in 93 games (81 starts) for the Crew since joining the club in 2020, registering 36 goals and 30 assists.

2023: Aidan Morris/Lucas Zelarayán

2022: Darlington Nagbe

2021: Lucas Zelarayan

2018: Zack Steffen

2016: Wil Trapp

2015: Ethan Finlay/Waylon Francis/Kei Kamara

2014: Michael Parkhurst

2010: Guillermo Barros Schelotto/Chad Marshall

2009: Guillermo Barros Schelotto/Chad Marshall

2008: Guillermo Barros Schelotto/Frankie Hejduk/Robbie Rogers

2007: Guillermo Barros Schelotto/Frankie Hejduk

2005: Frankie Hejduk

2004: Frankie Hejduk/Jon Busch/Robin Fraser

2003: Frankie Hejduk/Kyle Martino

2002: John Harkes/Brian Maisonneuve/Brian McBride

2001: Mike Clark/Brian McBride/John Wilmar Perez

2000: Mike Clark/Brian McBride/Dante Washington

1999: Thomas Dooley/Stern John/Brian Maisonneuve/Brian McBride/Robert Warzycha

1998: Thomas Dooley/Brian McBride/Brian Maisonneuve/Stern John

1997: Robert Warzycha/Brian McBride

1996: Brian McBride/Doctor Khumalo

1998: Brian McBride

Single-Match Tickets

Secure your seat to cheer on the reigning MLS Cup champion Columbus Crew at Field this season!

Interested in tickets? We're here to help!
Interested in tickets? We're here to help!

Become an Insider

By selecting "Yes", you hereby consent to receive additional information from The Crew, Major League Soccer, Soccer United Marketing, and its marketing partners in accordance with the Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.