Zack Steffen - Wil Trapp - USMNT - 2018

Columbus Crew SC midfielder Wil Trappand goalkeeper Zack Steffen have been nominated for U.S. Soccer Male Player of the Year, per a release from the governing organization Tuesday afternoon.

U.S. Soccer | Steffen, Trapp nominated for 2018 U.S. Soccer Male Player of the Year award -

In 2018, Steffen earned six caps with the U.S. Men’s National Team, tying Kasey Keller and Troy Perkins for most caps by a goalkeeper in his debut year with the Stars & Stripes. Steffen’s latest cap came in an international friendly against Colombia on October 11, 2018 at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Florida, with Steffen starting the match.

Trapp made a team-high nine appearances for the Men's National Team in 2018, wearing the captain's band as a starter in eight of his caps. In his career, the Crew SC captain has made 11 appearances for the U.S. since making his debut on January 28, 2015, notably garnering Man of the Match honors this year against Paraguay (March 27) and Peru (October 16).

Votes for U.S. Soccer Player of the Year awards are collected from respective National Team coaches, National Team players who have earned a cap in 2018, members of the U.S. Soccer Board of Directors, U.S. Soccer Athletes' Council, National Women's Soccer League head coaches for the WNT and American soccer league (MLS and USL) head coaches for the MNT, select media members and former players and administrators.

The U.S. Soccer Male Player of the Year has been awarded since 1984 when Rick Davis won it. Current U.S. MNT General Manager Earnie Stewart won it in 2001. Landon Donovan holds the record for most awards, winning it four times, while Clint Dempsey won it on three occasions. Then eighteen-year-old Christian Pulisic became the youngest player to win the award in 2017.

Interested in 2023 Season Tickets?
Interested in 2023 Season Tickets?