Press Releases

Crew SC exercises 5 options, brings current roster to 20

Columbus Crew SC today announced that it has exercised the contract options on five additional players from its 2016 roster giving the club a roster that currently features 20 players.

The club exercised the options of defender Nicolai Naess and midfielders Dilly Duka, Marshall Hollingsworth, Cristian Martinez and Mohammed Saeid. Previously, on Monday, the club announced it had picked-up the options of Designated Player and midfielder Federico Higuain as well as midfielders Wil Trapp and Justin Meram.

READ: Options exercised on Higuain, Meram & Trapp | First 3 Crew SC options announced

The Black & Gold simultaneously announced that they have not exercised the contract options of goalkeepers Steve Clark and Matt Pacifici, defender Corey Ashe and midfielder Cedrick Mabwati. Defenders Chad Barson and Michael Parkhurst are out of contract.

"Our goal is to return to being one of the conference leaders,” said Sporting Director and Head Coach Gregg Berhalter. “Today’s moves are another step in that direction as we continue to shape the roster for 2017."

A full League list of players eligible for Free Agency, the Waiver Draft and Re-Entry Process will be announced by MLS. The MLS Half-Day Trade window takes place between 9 a.m. and 12 p.m. ET on Sunday, December 11 and the Expansion Draft is held on Tuesday, December 13. Later on the 13th, MLS Free Agency begins at 5 p.m. ET. The MLS Waiver Draft is scheduled for Thursday, December 15 at 2 p.m. ET and the MLS Re-Entry Process begins with Stage One on Friday, December 16 at 3 p.m. ET. Stage Two of the Re-Entry Draft takes place on Thursday, December 22 at 3 p.m. ET.

Crew SC's current 2017 roster follows (listed alphabetically by position):

Goalkeepers (2)

Zack Steffen, Brad Stuver

Defenders (4)

Harrison Afful, Waylon Francis, Nicolai Naess, Gaston Sauro

Midfielders (12)

Dilly Duka, Ethan Finlay, Federico Higuain, Marshall Hollingsworth, Hector Jimenez, Cristian Martinez, Justin Meram, Mohammed Saeid, Rodrigo Saravia, Ben Swanson, Tony Tchani, Wil Trapp

Forwards (2)

Adam Jahn, Ola Kamara

Interested in tickets? We're here to help!
Interested in tickets? We're here to help!

Become an Insider

By selecting "Yes", you hereby consent to receive additional information from The Crew, Major League Soccer, Soccer United Marketing, and its marketing partners in accordance with the Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.